List of Space Research Centres in India


                                              India has achieved remarkable milestones in the field of Space technology. Be it Mission Mangal or Chandrayaan 1, India has proven its caliber in the space across the world. When we talk about Space research in India, one of the prominent names that come in our mind is Mr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam. Mr. Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam was born on October 15, 1931, in a small town in Rameswaram, Tamil Nadu. He was also known as a Missile Man of India because of his contribution to space research and technology. We currently have eight major space research centers in India. Let’s talk about them in brief:

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)

ISRO is the primary space agency of the Government of India. ISRO was founded on August 15, 1969. ISRO built its first satellite, Aryabhata on April 19, 1975, which was launched by the Soviet Union. It is headquartered in Bengaluru, Karnataka. The main center of ISRO is Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Sriharikota. It is known as the main Centre to manufacture major Indian satellites.

National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC)

National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC) is located in Hyderabad, Telangana. It is one of the centers of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). This centre was earlier known as National Remote Sensing Agency (NRSA) and comes under the Department of Space (DOS). It has been converted into one of the centres of ISRO on September 01, 2008.

National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC) is responsible for remote sensing satellite data acquisition and processing, data dissemination, aerial remote sensing and decision support for disaster management. It is also engaged in executing remote sensing application projects in collaboration with the users.

Satish Dhawan Space Centre 

Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC) is a rocket launch centre located in Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh. It was formed on October 01, 1971. This centre is operated by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC) was earlier known as Sriharikota Range but was renamed in 2002 after ISRO’s former chairman Satish Dhawan.

The current director of SDSC is Arumugam Rajarajan. This rocket launch centre currently is the only Spaceport in India. SDSC is responsible for providing Launch Base Infrastructure for the Indian Space Programme.

SDSC has the facilities for static testing of solid motors, solid propellant processing, launch vehicle integration and launch operations, range operations comprising telemetry, tracking and command network, and mission control centre.

List of Space Research Centres in India

Name of the Space Centre Name of the city/state
Satish Dhawan Space Centre – (Rocket Launching) Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh
Space Applications Centre (For Remote sensing /Telecommunication) Ahmedabad , Gujarat
ISRO Telemetry, Tracking & Command Network (ISTRAC) Bangalore, Karnataka
Indian Space Research Organisation Bengaluru, Karnataka
Vikram Sarabhai Space Center (Rocket Launching) Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
National Remote Sensing Centre  Hyderabad, Telagana
Master Control Facility (for geostationary & geosynchronous satellites) Karnataka
Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre  Kerala & Karnataka

For more articles like this keep visiting this space. You can attempt Free full-length mock tests on various exams related to Banking, Teaching, SSC, and Defence, etc.

Related Articles:

Tiger Reserves in India

National Parks In India

Wildlife Sanctuaries In India

Get Free Online Test Series, GK updates in form of BeepediaBeeBooster,  as well as latest updates for Bank POBank ClerkSSCRBINABARD and Other Government Jobs.

веб займ телефонзайм под залог москвазайм до 50000 рублей

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments