List of All Finance Ministers of India



Finance Ministers in India 

One of the important ministries within the Government of India which is concerned with the economy of INDIA is the Ministry Of Finance. It serves as the INDIAN TREASURY DEPARTMENT and deals with taxation, financial legislation, financial institutions, capital markets, center and state finances, and the Union Budget. It was formed on 29th October 1946 and headquarters at Raisina Hill, New Delhi. It is headed by a Finance Minister who is the chief head besides having Deputy Minister and some Executives. At present Mrs. Nirmala Sitharaman is the Finance Minister.

The finance minister is the head of the Ministry Of Finance of the Government Of India. One of the senior-most offices in the Union Cabinet, he/she is responsible for the fiscal policy of the government. The key duty is to present the annual Union Budget in Parliament , which details the Government plan for taxation and spending in the coming financial year and also outlines the allocations to different ministries and departments ( Generally the Union Budget was presented on the last working day of February but this tradition has been changed and now it is presented  on the first day of February so that it could be materialized before the New Financial Year begins ). The Finance Minister is assisted by the Minister of various states for finance and the lower-ranked Deputy Minister of Finance. 

The first Finance Minister of independent India was R. K. Shanmukham Chetty. The first female Finance Minister of India was Indira Gandhi but she held the post for nearly one year. Mrs. Sitharaman is the second female to hold such an important post. A look at all the Finance Ministers of India till now –

Names of Indian Finance Ministers With Their Tenure:

S.No Finance Minister Name Tenure
1. Liaquat Ali Khan 29th October 1946 to 14th August 1947
2. RK Shanmukham Chetty 15th August 1947 to 1949
3. John Mathai  1949 to 1950
4. C . D. Deshmukh 29th May 1950 to 1957 
5. T. T. Krishnamachari 1957 to 13th February 1958
6. Jawaharlal Nehru 13th  February 1958 to 13th March 1958
7. Morarji Desai 13th March 1958 to 29th August 1963
8. T. T. Krishnamachari 29th August 1963 to 1965
9. Sachindra Chaudhuri 1965 to  13th March 1967
10. Morarji Desai 13th March 1967 to 16th July 1969
11. Indira Gandhi 1970 to 1971
12. Yashwantrao Chavan 1971 to 1975
13. Chidambaram Subramaniam 1975 to 1977
14. Haribhai M. Patel 24th March 1977 to 24th January 1979
15. Charan Singh  24th January 1979 to 28th July 1979
16. Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna 28th July 1979 to 14th January 1980
17. R. Venkataraman 14th January 1980 to  15th January 1982
18.   Pranab Mukherjee  15th January 1982 to 31st December 1984
19. V .P . Singh 31st December 1984 to 24th January 1987
20. Rajiv Gandhi 24th January 1987 to 25th July 1987
21. N .D. Tiwari 25th July 1987 to 25th June 1988
22. Shankarrao Chavan 25th June 1988 to 2nd December 1989
23. Madhu Dandavate 2nd December 1989 to 10th November 1990
24. Yashwant Sinha  10th November 1990 to 21st June 1991
25. Manmohan Singh 21st June 1991 to 16th May 1996
26. Jaswant Singh 16th May 1996 to 1st June 1996
27. P. Chidambaram 1st May 1997 to 19th March 1998
28. I.K.Gujral 21st April 1997 to 1st May 1997
29. P. Chidambaram 1st May 1997 to 19th March 1998
30. Yashwant Sinha 19th March 1998 to 1st July 2002
31. Jaswant Singh 1st July 2002 to 22nd  May 2004
32. P. Chidambaram 22nd  May 2004 to 30th  November 2008
33. Manmohan Singh 30th  November 2008 to 24th January 2009
34. Pranab Mukherjee 24th January 2009 to 26th June 2012
35. Manmohan Singh 26th June 2012  to 31st July 2012
36. P. Chidambaram 31st  July 2012 to 26th May 2014
37. Arun Jaitley 26th May 2014 to 30th  May 2019
38. Nirmala Sitharaman 31st May 2019 to present

Practice Online Free Mock Tests Here

Get Free Online Test Series, Daily GK Update, PIB Current Affairs, Banking Awareness as well as latest updates for Bank PO, Bank Clerk, SSC, RBI, NABARD and Other Government Jobs. займ онлайн на счет срочнобыстрый займ ульяновскзайм без проверки карты

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments