List of Nobel Prize Winners 2021


The Nobel Prize was established in 1895 by Swedish Chemist Alfred Nobel who was also an engineer, industrialist and philanthropist. He left his entire wealth to set up the Nobel Prize. The first prize ceremony was held in 1901. These prizes are awarded in 5 categories, namely, Physics, Chemistry, Literature, Medicine and Peace. 

The Nobel Prize ceremony 2021 was held on October 4 2021. We have put together the list of all the award winners for this year and the fields in which they have achieved distinction. Moreover, read till the end to learn some very interesting facts about the Nobel Prize laureates. 

The Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize includes a gold legion, a diploma certificate and a cash prize of $1 million. 

Nobel Prize Winners List 2021

Take a look at the list of all the winners for this year and the fields in which they have won this prestigious award. 

Nobel Laureate  CategoryNationality
Syukuro ManabePhysicsJapanese-American
Klaus HasselmannPhysicsGerman
Giorgio ParisiPhysics Italian
Benjamin ListChemistry German
David W.C. MacMillanChemistry Scottish (United Kingdom) 
David Julius Physiology or Medicine American 
Ardem PatapoutianPhysiology or MedicineAmerican 
Abdulrazak GurnahLiterature British 
Maria RessaPeace Filipino-American
Dmitry Andreyevich MuratovPeace Russian 

Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences is awarded in memory of Alfred Nobel. It was added to the categories of Nobel Prizes in 1969 when it was awarded for the first time. The award is now called the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences

This year’s winners are David Card, Joshua D. Angrist and Guido W. Imbens. 

Last year, in 2020, this award was conferred upon Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer. 

Nobel Prize Trivia

  • In all, 23 distinguished scholars have been awarded the prize this year.
  • Abdulrazak Gurnah was born in the Sultanate of Zanzibar, now a part of Tanzania. He later moved to the United Kingdom. 
  • Maria Ressa is the first Nobel Laureate from the Philippines.
  • Russian journalist Muratov co-founded the newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993. He is pro-democracy in Russia. 
  • Klaus Hasselmann designed a model that allows us to connect weather and climate phenomenon to each other. 
  • Malala Yousafzai is the youngest Nobel Laureate who won at the age of 17. 
  • Jane Addams was nominated 91 times before she was finally awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1931. 
  • Nobel Prize winners from India include Rabindranath Tagore, C.V. Raman and Amartya Sen and Venki Ramakrishnan. 

Such topics are very important for you if you are preparing for government exams. Many exams such as NABARD Grade A, NABARD Grade B, LIC AAO, IBPS RRB PO, IBPS RRB Clerk and SEBI Grade A test a candidate’s general awareness. If you too want to ace this section, make it a habit to read ixamBee’s BeePedia updates that are released weekly and monthly. These are completely free and available in both English and Hindi. 

If you missed the Nobel Peace Prize announcements, we have attached some videos for you below. 

Also read

List of Nobel Prize Winners from India

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments