List of 10 Smallest countries by area and population


There are countries that are smaller than a district or city’s parks which is humorous. The country’s population is much lower than the population of any major city. Yes, the smallest country in the world, both in terms of territory and population covers 0.49 square kilometres, is the same size as our entire society. Only 825 people live in the region, which is less than some Indian villages. The Vatican City is a landlocked country in Europe, bordering Italy.

This country is entirely within the Italian capital, Rome, and serves as the Catholic Church’s sacred center. Some popes established this country to demonstrate their dominance over the region. Nauru is the world’s smallest island nation. 

Smallest Country in the World: The Vatican City

The Vatican City, also known as the Holy See, is the world’s smallest country. It has the smallest land area (0.44 square kilometres) and the smallest population of any nation on the planet. Members of the clergy make up 75% of the Vatican’s population. It houses the world’s largest cathedral, St. Peter’s Basilica, as well as some of the most important artworks from the past, such as The Pieta and the Creation of Adam. Its GDP is entirely funded by subscriptions or gifts from the Roman Catholic Church and Christian worshipers around the world.

Smallest Countries in the World By Area

RankCountryArea (km2)Area (mi2)ContinentBordering countries by land
1Vatican City0.490.19EuropeItaly
3Nauru218.1Australia and Oceania
4Tuvalu2610Australia and Oceania
5San Marino6124EuropeItaly
6Liechtenstein16062EuropeAustria, Switzerland
7Marshall Islands18170Australia and Oceania
8Saint Kitts and Nevis269104North America

Population- Wise Smallest Countries

S. No.CountryPopulationArea (km2)
1.Vatican City8250.44
5.San Marino33,78561
8.Saint Kitts and Nevis52,441269
9.Marshall Islands58,413181

Facts about the smallest country’s

  • The Vatican City State is just 0.44 square kilometres in size and has a population of 770 people on a provisional basis. This small country, which is an enclave of the Italian city of Rome, is not only the world’s smallest country, but also the world’s smallest monarchy, the world’s smallest city state, and the world’s smallest landlocked country, with His Holiness the Pope as its head of state. The nation does not have a capital city because it is a city state.
  • Monaco is a principality with a population of 32,000 people and an area of 2.02 square kilometres. Monaco, which is also listed as a city state, is a French enclave known for being a tax haven, as well as the host of the world-famous Monte Carlo Rally, Monaco Grand Prix, and Monte Carlo Casino, as well as having the world’s largest police force per capita and the world’s largest resident population of billionaires. The country does not have a capital city because it is a city state, though Monte Carlo is often mistakenly listed as such.
  • Nauru is a South Pacific island that is not only the world’s smallest island nation, but also the world’s smallest republic. The nation has a population of 13,000 people and occupies just 21 square kilometres. The island is known for having only one lane, a nineteen-kilometer coastal ring road, as well as its beachfront airport and runway.
  • Tuvalu: This constitutional monarchy in the South Pacific is made up of sixteen reef islands that occupy a total area of 26 square kilometres and have a population of 10,500 people. Tourism and the selling of the highly sought after “.tv” internet domain name accounts for a large portion of the tiny country’s GDP.
  • San Marino: This tiny enclave, located in Italy’s Apennine Mountains, is Europe’s oldest republic, having been in existence since the year 301. San Marino has a population of 29,000 people and a land area of 61 square kilometres.
  • Liechtenstein is a central European republic. The nation has a population of 34,000 people and occupies an area of 160 square kilometres. The nation is known for being one of the world’s only two double landlocked nations, meaning it is a landlocked country surrounded by other landlocked countries.
  • The Marshall Island: The Republic of the Marshall Islands is a group of 1,156 islands in the north Pacific Ocean that occupy an area of 181 square kilometres and have a population of 58,000 people. The island country, which has a free trade agreement with the US, is host to the world’s largest shark sanctuary, which spans two million square kilometres of ocean.
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis: The two volcanic islands that are part of the Caribbean Sea’s Leeward Islands. With a population of 39,000 people and a land area of 261 square kilometres, this tiny federal constitutional monarchy is the smallest sovereign state in the Americas.
  • The Maldives are an island nation in the Indian Ocean made up of two chains of twenty-six islands. With a population of 340,000 people and a land area of 300 square kilometres, this tiny republic is the smallest sovereign state on the Asian continent.
  • Malta: This Mediterranean republic, which is made up of just three inhabited islands and covers an area of 316 square kilometres, has a population of 400,000 people, making it the world’s most densely populated sovereign state.

Also Read:

PRAGATI: Pro-Active Governance and Timely Implementation

WTO Vs IMF: How they are different?

Notifications Delayed but Opportunities haven’t: Preparation of Government Job Exams During the Second Wave of Covid-19!

List of High Courts in India As per 2021

Get Free Online Test Series, GK updates in form of Beepedia, as well as latest updates for Bank POBank ClerkSSCRBINABARD, and Other Government Jobs.

5 3 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments