Indian States and Union Territories with their Capitals [Updated List]


The Republic of India is known for its diverse culture and climatic conditions. It is a democratic country and occupies a prominent part of South Asia. India is spread across 812.3 million acres and is ranked 7th in the world. The countries that share borders with India are Bangladesh, China, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka (Water boundary). One of the most outstanding qualities of India is that it stands united despite different cultural and regional differences thus justifying the slogan- “Unity in Diversity”. In the new map of India, there are 28 States and 9 Union Territories (two of them are newly created i.e. Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh), earlier it was 29 states and 7 Union Territories.

India is also known for its longest written constitution. It has 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 Schedules. The Constitution of India was adopted by the constitution assembly on 26th November 1949 however, it came into force on  26th January 1950. 26th January was then marked as republic day of India and is celebrated every year on this day. Dr. B.R Ambedkar who was then the Union Law minister and chairman of the Drafting Committee is known as the architect of the constitution of India because he played a prominent role in drafting the constitution of India. 

India state and its capitals are one of the most asked questions in competitive examinations, therefore it is important to have a grip on this topic.

Below is the list of states and union territories with their capitals :

Indian State List Capital Name
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad/ Amravati
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
Assam Dispur/ Guwahati
Bihar Patna
Chhattisgarh Naya Raipur
Goa Panaji/Vasco Da Gama
Gujarat Gandhinagar/ Ahmedabad
Haryana Chandigarh/ Faridabad
Himachal Pradesh Shimla(Summer)/ Dharamsala(Winter)
Jharkhand Ranchi/Jamshedpur
Karnataka Bangalore
Kerala Thiruvandrapuram/Kochi
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal/Indore
Maharashtra Mumbai (Summer)/Nagpur( Winter)
Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya Shilling
Mizoram Aizawl
Nagaland Kohima/Dimapur
Odisha Bhubaneshwar
Punjab Chandigarh / Ludhiana
Rajasthan Jaipur
Sikkim Gangtok
Tamil Nadu Chennai
Telangana Hyderabad
Tripura Agartala
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow/ Kanpur
Uttarakhand Dehradun
West Bengal Kolkata

Download the PDF of New Map of India Here

List of the Union Territories in India:

India consists of 9 Union Territories (two have been created recently i.e. Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh). List of Union Territories and their capitals is given below:

Union Territory (UT) ListCapital Name of UT
Andaman and Nicobar islands Port Blair
Chandigarh Chandigarh
Dadar and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
Daman and Diu Daman
Delhi Delhi
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar(Summer)/ Jammu (Winter)
Ladakh Leh
Lakshadweep Kavaratti
Puducherry Pondicherry

Download the Map for UT of Jammu and Kashmir and ladakh here

ixamBee provides 700+ Free Mock Tests for various exams. To be able to attempt these free mock tests, you will need an ixamKey, a unique ID to unlock mock tests. You can ask for ixamKey from your friends on various platforms such as Telegram, FB, Whatsapp.  Your ixamkey (which you can share with your friends) is available on your dashboard. So what are you waiting for? Ask for ixamkey from your friends and share yours also because remember sharing is caring. 

Also Read:

Finance Ministers of India List

ISRO Full Form

NPA Full Form

ATM and its types

Best Motivational books for students

Get Free Online Test Series, Daily GK Update, PIB Current Affairs, Banking Awareness as well as latest updates for Bank PO, Bank Clerk, SSC, RBI, NABARD and Other Government Jobs.

электронный займзайм без залога красноярсксрочно займ на киви
3.3 3 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
10 months ago


5 months ago

This information was very helpful and sharing because we can learn this