Click here for Daily Gk Quiz                          Click here for Weekly Gk Capsule                          Click here for Daily Gk Updates
Home > Exams > RBI Grade B Eligibility Criteria

RBI Grade B Eligibility Criteria

RBI Grade B Eligibility Criteria

The eligibility Criteria - Nationality, Educational Qualification, Age limit and No. of chances for RBI Grade B Examination is mentioned below:

RBI Grade B 2018 Educational Qualification

A minimum of 60% marks (50% in case of SC/ST/PWD) or an equivalent grade in Bachelor’s degree in any discipline from a recognized university or equivalent. The minimum qualifying percentage or an equivalent grade for the Bachelor's Degree will be in aggregate for all semesters/years.

The candidate should have cleared 12th (or Diploma or equivalent) and 10th standard examinations. 

RBI Grade B 2018 Age Limit

Upper age limit is 32 and 34 years respectively for those candidates who possess M.Phil. and Ph.D. qualification. Furthermore, upper age limited is relaxed to maximum 3 years for candidates having experience as an officer in Commercial Bank/Financial Institution in Public Sector as also prior experience in Reserve Bank of India, provided the upper age limit does not exceed 33 years including experience.

For RBI Grade B 2017 Exam, the age limit was reckoned as on 1st May 2017. A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years on the 1st of May, 2017 i.e., he/she must have been born not earlier than 2nd May, 1987 and not later than 1st May, 1996.

RBI Grade B 2018 Number of chances

Number of times a candidate can appear for the main examination is as described below:


 No. of Chances


6 chances


No Restriction


No Restriction

Candidates who have already appeared for the maximum number of chances permissible are not eligible to apply again for the RBI grade B examination. Appearing in Phase I: Preliminary Examination is counted as a chance.


RBI Grade B 2-18 Nationality

A candidate applying for the RBI Grade B 2018 examination must be either:

a. a citizen of India, or

b. a subject of Nepal, or

c. a subject of Bhutan, or

d. a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or

e. a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

Provided that a candidate belonging to categories (b), (c), (d) and (e) shall be a person in whose favour a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the Government of India. 

A candidate in whose case a certificate of eligibility is necessary, may be admitted to the examination but the offer of appointment may be given only after the necessary eligibility certificate has been issued to him/her by the Government of India.


Subscribe to 'TargetBee'- A comprehensive Online Course for the Preparation of Phase 1 and Phase 2 of the RBI Grade B 2018 Exam

Read About RBI Grade B Phase 1 Cut-Off for 2017



By clicking on Register, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy


How can we help you achieve this?

ixamBee offers you technology enabled personalized learning experiences that accelerate your learning and ability to score high. Our interactive videos enhance your learning and our uniquely designed practice questions continue to pose challenge for you. Our experts train you in mastering winning techniques to clear the exam.