Exam Pattern for SSC CGL

SSC CGL Exam Notification

SSC CGL Exam Details

What is SSC?

Staff Selection Commission (SSC) is an organization under Government of India, to recruit staff for various posts in the various Ministries and Departments of the Government of India and in Subordinate Offices.

Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts Combined Graduate Level Exam (CGL) every year offering 6,000 -12,000 vacancies for recruiting non-gazette officers to various government jobs. Because of the high number of vacancies offered by SSC, it has been an immensely famous exam amongst the aspirants across the nation.

SSC CGL Exam details are as follows:

SSC CGL 2018

Acronym SSC CGL
Type Online standardized test
Knowledge / skills tested General Knowledge, Reasoning, Quantitative Aptitude, English
Purpose Securing jobs in Government Organisations
Conducted Annually
Language medium English/Hindi
Prerequisites/eligibility criteria Bachelor's Degree

SSC CGL 2018-19 exam will be conducted in four phases: Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3 & Tier 4 where Tier 1,2 and 3 will be online objective tests with multiple choices. The details of the SSC CGL exam are described below:

PhaseTierExamination TypeExam TypeMaximum Marks
I Tier 1 Written Examination Objective 200 Marks
II Tier 2 Written Examination Objective 200 Marks for each Paper
III Tier 3 Written Examination Descriptive 100 Marks
IV Tier 4 Computer Test / Skill Test (wherever applicable) Typing Test -

SSC CGL is a golden opportunity for all the government job aspirants, as it is a gateway to enter the government sector. It gives security and stability in the career. As per the latest SSC notification, we know that there will be no interviews. It makes it a bit easier for all the candidates. Your rank in the written exam and your preference order hold paramount importance in deciding your journey ahead. Therefore, you should start preparing for the SSC CGL examination.