SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2018 | SSC CGL Tier 1 Latest Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

SSC CGL 2018 Exam Pattern 

The Exam details for each tier are explained in this section.

SSC CGL 2018-19 Tier 1 Exam Pattern 

The SSC CGL Tier 1 exam will be objective type and will have 100 questions from 4 sections- General Awareness/ General knowledge, Quantitative Aptitude and English Comprehension. The exam will be of 200 marks and duration will be 60 min. Please note that the Exam Pattern has been modified and the Duration of Tier 1 Exam has been changed from 75 minutes to 60 Minutes.

S.No.SubjectNumber of QuestionsMarksDuration
1 General Intelligence & Reasoning 25 50 60 min
2 General Awareness/ General knowledge 25 50
3 Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
4 English Comprehension 25 50
. Total 100 200  

For Visually handicapped candidates the exam duration is 80 min.

Candidates who secure qualifying marks as decided by the commission are only allowed to appear for Tier II.

SSC CGL 2018 Tier-II Exam Pattern 

The SSC CGL Tier II exam will be objective type and will have 4 papers as per the details mentioned in the table below: 

PaperSubjectNo. of QuestionsDurationMarksMarking Scheme
1 Quantitative Ability 100 2 hours 200 -0.5 marks for wrong answer
2 English language & Comprehension 200 2 hours 200 -0.25 marks for wrong answer
3 Statistics 100 2 hours 200 -0.5 marks for wrong answer
4 General Studies (Finance & Economics) 100 2 hours 200 -0.5 marks for wrong answer

Paper on Quantitative Ability and English Language & Comprehension are compulsory for all posts

Paper on Statistics is there only for Statistical Investigator Gr. II” & “Compiler”

Paper on General Studies (Finance and Economics) is there only for the post of “Assistant Audit Officer”Paper 4 has following sub sections:

Paper 4 subsectionNo. of QuestionsTotal marks
Finance & Accounts 40 80
Economics & Governance 60 120

On the basis of the marks secured by a candidate in Tier I and Tier II, eligibility of candidates to appear in Tier III and Tier IV is determined.

SSC CGL Tier - III Exam Pattern

This exam is descriptive and is conducted offline (pen and paper mode) and has been introduced to check the writing skills that must be possessed by a Govt. Officer.

Exam PatternLanguageMaximum MarksTime Allotted
Essay (250 words) Précis (250 words) Letter / Application Writing  (150 words) English/Hindi 100 60 Minutes

For visually handicapped and cerebral palsy candidates the duration is 80 min.

Language medium would be Hindi or English. 

For the final Merit List, the marks of three phases Tier I, II & III are added.

Candidates are given appointments as per their ranks and preference of posts as filled in the application form.

SSC CGL Tier-IV Exam Pattern

This exam is conducted online in two forms. Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) or Computer Proficiency Test (CPT). The DEST is conducted for the post of Tax Assistants and CPT for the post of Assistant Section officers.

S.No.TIER 4: Exam NameEligible PostsExam Pattern
1. Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) Tax Assistants 2000 key depression per hour will be conducted for 15 minutes.
2. Computer Proficiency Test(CPT) Assistant Section officers 3 modules namely word processing, spreadsheet and generation of slides